*AGENDA STANDING COMMITTEE ON ALBERTA'S ECONOMIC FUTURE

DATE: Tuesday, June 3, 2014 **TIME:** 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. **LOCATION:** Committee Room A

> 4th Floor – Legislature Annex 9718-107 Street, Edmonton



- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Approval of Agenda
- 3. EXPERT AND STAKEHOLDER PRESENTATIONS respecting the review of Bill 9: Public Sector Pension Plans Amendment Act, 2014 and Bill 10: Employment Pension (Private Sector) Plans Amendment Act, 2014

PANEL 1: Background Information about Pension Plans

a) 8:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Alberta Treasury Board and Finance

Mr. Ray Gilmour, Deputy Minister

Mr. Mark Prefontaine, Assistant Deputy Minister Ms. Ellen Nygaard, Executive Director, Pension Policy

Mr. Bill Moore, Staff Actuary

b) 10:45 a.m. to 12:00 Noon Office of the Auditor General

Mr. Merwan Saher, Auditor General

Mr. Jeff Sittler, Principal

PANEL 2: Bill 9 Experts

c) 12:45 p.m. to 3:15 p.m. i) Mr. Brendan George, George & Bell Consulting

ii) Mr. Murray Gold, Managing Partner, Koskie Minsky LLP

iii) Mr. Jim Leech, Former President and CEO, Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan

iv) ¤Mr. Malcolm Hamilton, Senior Fellow of the CD Howe Institute
v) Mr. Emilian Groch, CEO, Alberta Teachers' Retirement Fund Board

PANEL 3: Bill 10 Experts

d) 3:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. i) Mr. Emilian Groch, CEO, Alberta Teachers' Retirement Fund Board

ii) Mr. Michael Wolpert, Partner, Lawson Lundell LLP

iii) Mr. Phil Rivard, FSA, FCIA, Vice President, Segal Consulting

- 4. Other Business
- 5. Date of Next Meeting
- 6. Adjournment

*Draft agenda is subject to final approval by the Committee ¤Via Videoconference

PLEASE NOTE: These meetings are open to the public to attend, space permitting. <u>Observers may be seated</u> <u>in an alternate location if the meeting room gallery is required for meeting participants</u>. Because space is limited, you may wish to access the live audio stream of the proceedings at <u>assemblyonline.assembly.ab.ca</u>.

MEDIA: Media who are planning to attend any of the expert and stakeholder panels from June 3 to 5 are asked to confirm their attendance by e-mailing rhonda.sorensen@assembly.ab.ca.