3rd Session, 13th Legislature, Alberta 5 Elizabeth II, 1957

BILL 22

A Bill of Consent respecting the adoption of the Alberta-Northwest Territories boundary as surveyed by the Canadian Department of the Interior in 1924 and 1925 and by the Alberta-Northwest Territories Boundary Commission between 1950 and 1954.

HON. MR. WILLMORE

EDMONTON, ALBERTA Printed by A. SHNITKA, Printer to the Queen's Most Excellent Majesty, 1957 Explanatory Note

BILL

No. 22 of 1957

An Act of Consent respecting the adoption of the Alberta-Northwest Territories boundary as surveyed by the Canadian Department of the Interior in 1924 and 1925 and by the Alberta-Northwest Territories Boundary Commission between 1950 and 1954.

(Assented to . 1957)

WHEREAS The Alberta Act 4 and 5, Edward VII, Chapter 3, defines the northerly boundary of the Province of Alberta as "the parallel of the sixtieth degree of north latitude"; and

WHEREAS the District of Mackenzie, Northwest Territories, is described in Order Number 655 of the Privy Council, dated March 16th, 1918, as being bounded on the south by the parallel of the sixtieth degree of north latitude; and

WHEREAS that portion of the said boundary of the District of Mackenzie lying between the Slave River and the Little Buffalo River was surveyed and marked on the ground under the direction of the Surveyor General of Dominion Lands in 1924 and 1925; and

WHEREAS in order to continue and complete the survey and demarcation of the remainder of the boundary between Alberta and the Northwest Territories, a commission to undertake the same and designated the Alberta-Northwest Territories Boundary Commission was appointed and authorized by Order Number 692 of the Privy Council, dated February 14th, 1950, and by Order Number 1393-49 of the Lieutenant Governor in Council, dated November 21st, 1949; and

WHEREAS the said Boundary Commission, between 1950 and 1954, caused the survey and demarcation of the remainder of the said boundary as determined by the said Commission to be completed and has caused the same, together with that portion of the boundary surveyed by the Department of the Interior in 1924 and 1925 to be duly shown upon twenty map sheets entitled "Alberta and the Northwest Territories Boundary" and signed by the Commissioners, which said map sheets have been printed and copies thereof deposited in the office of the Director of Surveys of this Province; and General. The purpose of this Bill is explained in its Preamble.

WHEREAS it is expedient that the line surveyed and marked as aforesaid by the Department of the Interior and the Alberta-Northwest Territories Boundary Commission should be established as the boundary between this Province and the Northwest Territories; and

WHEREAS by Section 3 of The British North America Act, 1871, it was enacted that the Parliament of the Dominion of Canada may from time to time with the consent of the Legislature of any Province of the Dominion increase, diminish or otherwise alter the limits of that Province upon such terms and conditions as may be agreed upon by the said Legislature and may, with the like consent, make provision respecting the effect and operation of any such increase or diminution or alteration of territory in relation to any Province affected thereby;

THEREFORE, Her Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Alberta, enacts as follows:

1. This Act may be cited as "The Alberta-Northwest Territories Boundary Act, 1957".

2. The Legislature of the Province of Alberta hereby consents that the Parliament of the Government of Canada do declare the line surveyed, marked and shown in the manner referred to in the preamble to be the boundary line between this Province and the Northwest Territories, whether or not the same increases, diminishes or otherwise alters the territory of this Province.

3. This Act comes into force on the day upon which it is assented to.

THIRD SESSION THIRTEENTH LEGISLATURE 5 ELIZABETH II

1957

BILL

An Act of Consent respecting the adoption of the Alberta-Northwest Territories boundary as surveyed by the Canadian Department of the Interior in 1924 and 1925 and by the Alberta-Northwest Territories Boundary Commission between 1950 and 1954.

Received and read the

First time

Second time

Third time.....

HON. MR. WILLMORE