1970 Bill 71

Third Session, 16th Legislature, 19 Elizabeth II

THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF ALBERTA

BILL 71

An Act to amend The Agricultural and Vocational Colleges Act

THE MINISTER OF AGRICULTURE
First Reading
Second Reading
Third Reading

Printed by L. S. Wall, Queen's Printer, Edmonton

BILL 71

1970

An Act to amend The Agricultural and Vocational Colleges Act

(Assented to

, 1970)

HER MAJESTY, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Alberta, enacts as follows:

- 1. The Agricultural and Vocational Colleges Act is hereby amended.
- **2.** Section 7 is struck out and the following section is substituted:
- 7. (1) There shall be a Board of Agricultural and Vocational Education consisting of
 - (a) the Deputy Minister of Education, or some member of the Department of Education appointed by him to represent him in his absence,
 - (b) the Dean of Agriculture of each university under *The Universities Act* having a faculty of agriculture, or some member of that faculty appointed by him to represent him in his absence,
 - (c) the Director of the Division of Extension and Colleges of the Department of Agriculture or some representative of the Division appointed by him to represent him in his absence,
 - (d) the chairman of the Alberta Colleges Commission or some member of the Commission appointed by him to represent him in his absence,

and the members appointed in accordance with subsection (2).

- (2) The remaining members of the Board shall be appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council and shall consist of
 - (a) one representative from the governing body of each of the following organizations:
 - (i) The Alberta School Trustees Association;

Explanatory Notes

- 1. This Bill amends chapter 3 of the Statutes of Alberta, 1967.
- 2. Board members. Section 7 presently reads:
 - 7. (1) There shall be a Board of Agricultural and Vocational Education consisting of
 - (a) the Minister,

 - (a) the Minister,
 (b) the Deputy Minister of Agriculture,
 (c) the Deputy Minister of Education,
 (d) the Dean of Agriculture of each university under The Universities Act having a faculty of agriculture,
 (e) the Director of the Division of Extension and Colleges, of the Department of Agriculture,
 - and nine other members appointed in accordance with subsection (2).
 - (2) The nine remaining members shall all be appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council and shall consist of
 - - (i) The Alberta School Trustees Association;
 - (ii) The Alberta Association of Municipal Districts;
 - (iii) The Alberta Federation of Agriculture;
 - (iv) The Farm Women's Union of Alberta;
 - (v) Alberta Women's Institute;

 - (vi) Repealed, 1968, c. 1, s. 3 and
 - (a1) one member representing all the agricultural and vocational colleges alumni associations, and $\,$
 - (b) three members appointed at large.
 - (3) Subject to section 8, all members of the Board hold office for two years.
 - (4) No person other than a Canadian citizen or a British subject resident in Alberta is eligible for apointment as a member of the Board.

- (ii) The Alberta Association of Municipal Districts and Counties;
- (iii) The Alberta Federation of Agriculture or any association formed by its union with the Farmers' Union of Alberta;
- (iv) The Farm Women's Union of Alberta;
- (v) The Alberta Women's Institutes;
- (b) one representative nominated by each agricultural and vocational college alumni association;
- (c) one representative nominated by each advisory committee of an Agricultural and Vocational College and who is not otherwise a member of the Board, and
- (d) three members appointed at large.
- (3) Subject to section 8 all members of the Board appointed pursuant to subsection (2) shall hold office for a term of two years.
- 3. Section 10 is amended by striking out subsections (1) and (2) and by substituting the following:
- **10.** (1) The Director of the Division of Extension and Colleges of the Department of Agriculture shall act as chairman of the Board.
- (2) The Minister shall appoint a vice-chairman from among the members of the Board to act in the absence of the chairman.
- **4.** Sections 11 and 12 are struck out and the following sections are substituted:
- 11. (1) The Board shall hold its regular annual meeting before the 30th day of June in each year.
- (2) At the first meeting following the annual meeting the Board shall schedule at least three regular meetings the last of which shall be the next regular annual meeting.
- 12. The chairman, upon the request of three or more members of the Board, shall call a special meeting of the Board as requested, and in every such case the secretary of the Board shall give reasonable notice of the special meeting to each member.
- 5. This Act comes into force on the day upon which it is assented to.

3. Chairman of the Board. Section 10, subsections (1) and (2) presently read:

10. (1) The Minister or such member of the Board as he appoints shall act as chairman of the ${\bf Board}.$

(2) The Board may appoint one of its members to be vice-chairman, and whenever the chairman is for any reason unable to act or where there is a vacancy in the office of chairman, the vice-chairman is empowered to act for and shall act for the chairman.

4. 11 Regular meetings. Section 11 presently reads:

11. The Board shall hold its regular annual meeting before the 30th day of June in each year at a time and place to be fixed by the chairman, and the secretary of the Board shall give due notice of the meeting to each member.

This now prescribes a minimum number of meetings. The amendment to this section and to section 12 pass control of calling meetings to the Board rather than the chairman.

12. Special meetings. This section has been worded this way as some individual must call the meeting.

2