1975 Bill 32 (Second Session)

First Session, 18th Legislature, 24 Elizabeth II

THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF ALBERTA

BILL 32

THE ELECTORAL BOUNDARIES COMMISSION AMENDMENT ACT, 1975

Honourable Mr. Hyndman
First Reading
Second Reading
Third Reading

Printed by the Queen's Printer for the Province of Alberta, EDMONTON

BILL 32

1975

(Second Session)

THE ELECTORAL BOUNDARIES COMMISSION AMENDMENT ACT, 1975

(Assented to

, 1975)

HER MAJESTY, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta, enacts as follows:

- 1. The Electoral Boundaries Commission Act is hereby amended.
- 2. Section 2 is amended by adding the following clause after clause (b):
 - (b1) "existing urban electoral division" means an electoral division described in the Schedule to The Legislative Assembly Act that comprises the whole or part of a city or town named in section 13;
 - 3. Section 6 is amended by striking out subsection (2).
- 4. Section 7, subsection (1) is amended by striking out the words "not later than December 1 in the year in which it is appointed" and substituting the words "within 12 months of the date on which the Commission is appointed".
- 5. Section 9, subsection (1) is amended by striking out the words "not later than February 15 following submission of" and substituting the words "within six months of the date it submits".
- 6. Section 10, clause (a) is struck out and the following clause substituted:
 - (a) if the Assembly is in session when the report is submitted, be forthwith laid before the Assembly, or

Explanatory Notes

- 1. This Bill will amend chapter 118 of the Revised Statutes of Alberta 1970.
 - 2. "Existing urban electoral division" defined.
 - **3.** Section 6 presently reads:
 - 6. (1) A new Commission shall be appointed during the first session of the Legislature following every second general election following the appointment of the last Commission.
 - (2) Notwithstanding subsection (1), where less than eight years has elapsed since the appointment of the last Commission, a new Commission shall not be appointed until those eight years have elapsed.
 - 4. Section 7, subsection (1) presently reads:
 - 7. (1) The Commission shall, after considering any representations to it and not later than December 1 in the year in which it is appointed, submit to the Speaker of the Assembly a report which shall delineate the boundaries of the proposed electoral divisions.
 - 5. Section 9, subsection (1) presently reads:
 - 9. (1) The Commission may, after considering any further representations made to it and not later than February 15 following submission of its report, submit to the Speaker such amendments to its report as it considers advisable.
 - 6. Section 10, clause (a) presently reads:
 - 10. The report of the Commission, together with any amendments thereto, shall.
 - (a) if the Assembly is in session on February 15, be forthwith laid before the Assembly, or

- 7. Section 12 is struck out and the following section substituted:
- 12. The Commission shall divide the Province into 79 proposed electoral divisions consisting of
 - (a) 43 proposed urban electoral divisions, and
 - (b) 36 proposed rural electoral divisions.
- 8. Section 13 is struck out and the following section substituted:
 - 13. (1) The Commission shall establish
 - (a) the cities of Camrose, Drumheller, Grande Prairie, Medicine Hat, Red Deer and Wetaskiwin and the town of St. Albert, each as a proposed urban electoral division;
 - (b) 16 proposed urban electoral divisions in the City of Calgary;
 - (c) 18 proposed urban electoral divisions in the City of Edmonton;
 - (d) two proposed urban electoral divisions in the City of Lethbridge.
- (2) The areas of the Province that are not included in proposed urban electoral divisions shall be included in proposed rural electoral divisions.
 - 9. Section 19 is struck out.
- 10. This Act comes into force on the day upon which it is assented to.

7. Section 12 presently reads:

12. The Commission shall divide the Province into $75\,$ proposed electoral divisions, which shall be of two kinds, namely,

- (a) urban electoral divisions, and
- (b) rural electoral divisions.

8. Section 13 presently reads:

 ${f 13.}$ (1) The Commission shall establish one or more proposed urban electoral divisions in each of the following urban municipalities only:

Calgary Lethbridge
Camrose Medicine Hat
Drumheller Red Deer
Edmonton St. Albert
Grande Prairie Wetaskiwin.

(2) The number of proposed urban electoral divisions shall be determined by dividing the total voter population of the existing urban electoral divisions by a figure 25 per cent above the average voter population of all the existing electoral divisions, both urban and rural.

(3) The voter population of the community of Sherwood Park shall be included as part of the total voter population of the existing urban electoral divisions for the purposes of subsection (2).

9. Section 19 presently reads:

19. The areas of the Province that are not included in proposed urban electoral divisions shall be included in proposed rural electoral divisions, the number of which shall be determined by subtracting the number of proposed urban electoral divisions from the total number of proposed electoral divisions to be established.