1985 BILL 17

Third Session, 20th Legislature, 34 Elizabeth II

THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF ALBERTA

BILL 17

WATER RESOURCES COMMISSION AMENDMENT ACT, 1985

MR. KROEGER	
First Reading	• • • •
Second Reading	
Committee of the Whole	
Third Reading	• • • •
Royal Assent	

Bill 17 Mr. Kroeger

BILL 17

1985

WATER RESOURCES COMMISSION AMENDMENT ACT, 1985

(Assented to , 1985)

HER MAJESTY, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta, enacts as follows:

- 1 The Water Resources Commission Act is amended by this Act.
- 2 Section 3(1) is amended by adding the following after clause (f):
 - (g) the Assistant Deputy Minister, Resource Evaluation and Planning Division, of the Department of Energy and Natural Resources.

3 Section 4(1) is amended by striking out "3(1)(a)" and substituting "3(1)".

In accordance with section 4(1) of the Interpretation Act, this Bill comes into force on the date it receives Royal Assent.

Explanatory Notes

- 1 This Bill will amend chapter W-5.1 of the Statutes of Alberta, 1983.
- 2 Section 3(1) presently reads:
 - 3(1) The Water Resources Commission shall consist of the following members:
 - (a) 2 members of the Legislative Assembly appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council;
 - (b) 3 persons appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council who are representative of the public at large;
 - (c) the Assistant Deputy Minister of Water Resources Management Services of the Department of the Environment;
 - (d) the Assistant Deputy Minister of Planning and Services of the Department of Economic Development;
 - (e) the Assistant Deputy Minister of Improvement Districts Operations of the Department of Municipal Affairs;
 - (f) the Assistant Deputy Minister of Research and Resource Development of the Department of Agriculture.
- 3 Section 4(1) presently reads:
 - 4(1) The Lieutenant Governor in Council shall designate one member referred to in section 3(1)(a) to be chairman of the Commission.

1

Explanatory Notes