1990 BILL 287

Second Session, 22nd Legislature, 39 Elizabeth II

THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF ALBERTA

BILL 287

AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOR ELECTED REPRESENTATION ON POST-SECONDARY EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTE BOARDS

MS BARRETT

First Reading	
Second Reading	
Committee of the Whole	
Third Reading	
Royal Assent	

Bill 287 Ms Barrett

BILL 287

1990

AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOR ELECTED REPRESENTATION ON POST-SECONDARY EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTE BOARDS

(Assented to , 1990)

HER MAJESTY, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta, enacts as follows:

- 1 (1) The Colleges Act is amended by this section.
 - (2) Section 4 is repealed and the following substituted:

4(1) A college board shall consist of the following members:

(a) the following persons appointed by the Minister:

(i) 2 academic staff members elected by the academic staff association,

(ii) 2 students elected by the student's council, and

(iii) 2 members of the non-academic staff who are not engaged in the administration of the college and are elected by the non-academic staff of the college at a meeting called for that purpose;

(b) 4 persons to be appointed by the councils of the municipality or municipalities prescribed as being the most closely connected with the college, by the Lieutenant Governor in Council, who may also prescribe how many are to be appointed by each municipality;

(b.1) 5 persons appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in

Explanatory Notes

1 This section will amend Chapter c-18 of the Revised Statutes of Alberta 1990.

The section provides for appointment of some college board members by local municipalities. Section 4(1) presently reads as follows:

4(1) A college board shall consist of the following members:

(a) the following persons appointed by the Minister.

(i) 1 academic staff member nominated by the academic staff association,

(ii) 1 student nominated by the student's council, and

(iii) 1 member of the non-academic staff who is not engaged in the administration of the college and is nominated by the non-academic staff of the college at a meeting called for that purpose;

(b) 7 persons appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council, 1 of whom shall be designated as chairman.

(b.1) additional persons appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council on the recommendation of the Minister;

(c) in the case of Lakeland College, 1 other person appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council;

(d) the President of the college.

Council one of whom shall be nominated by the Alberta Urban Municipalities Association and one by the Alberta Association of Municipal Districts and Counties;

(c) in the case of Lakeland College, one other person appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council;

(d) the President of the college.

(1.1) If the body entitled to appoint, elect or nominate a member, fails to do so within 90 days, the Lieutenant Governor in Council may appoint the member.

(1.2) A board shall at its first meeting elect one of its members as chairman.

- 2 (1) The Technical Institutes Act is amended by this section.
 - (2) Section 5 is amended:
 - (a) by repealing clause (1)(b) and substituting:

(b) 5 persons appointed by the council of the municipality or municipalities prescribed as being the most closely connected with the institute, by Order of the Lieutenant-Governor in Council, who may also prescribe how many are to be appointed by each municipality.

(b.1) 5 persons appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council of whom one shall be nominated by the Alberta Federation of Labour and one by a chamber of commerce prescribed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.

(b) by adding the following after subsection (1):

(1.1) If the body entitled to appoint or nominate a member, fails to do so within 90 days, the Lieutenant Governor in Council may appoint the member.

- 3 (1) The Universities Act is amended by this section.
 - (2) Section 15 is amended:
 - (a) in clause (d)
 - (i) by striking out "nominating" wherever it occurs and

2 This section will amend Chapter T-3.1 of the Statutes of Alberta 1981.

The section provides for the appointment of some technical institute members by municipal councils.

Section 5(1) presently reads:

- 5(1) A board shall consist of the following members:
 - (a) the following persons appointed by the Minister:
 - (i) 2 students nominated by the students council,

(ii) 2 academic staff members nominated by the academic staff association, and

(iii) 1 member of the non-academic staff who is not engaged in the administration of the technical institute.

(b) 10 persons appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council, 1 of whom shall be designated as chairman;

(c) the President of the technical institute.

The section provides for the appointment of some university board members elected by local municipal councils and other stakeholder organizations.

Section 15(4) presently reads as follows:

³ This section will amend Chapter U-5 of the Revised Statutes of Alberta 1980.

substituting "elected";

(ii) by adding the following after subclause (v):

(vi) one person elected by the Alberta Urban Municipalities Association;

(vii) one person elected by Alberta Association of Municipal Districts and Counties;

(viii) one person elected by Alberta Federation of Labour;

(ix) one person elected by Alberta Chamber of Commerce.

(b) by repealing subsection (4)(e) and substituting:

(e) 4 members appointed by the council of the municipality or municipalities prescribed as being the municipality or municipalities the most closely connected with the university, by the Lieutenant Governor in Council, who may also prescribe how many are to be appointed by each municipality.

(f) 4 additional members appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.

(b) by adding the following after subsection (4.1):

(4.2) If the body entitled to appoint or elect a member, fails to do so within 90 days, the Lieutenant Governor in Council may appoint the member.

(4.3) The board shall at its first meeting elect one of its members as chairman.

4 This Act comes into force on proclamation.

(4) The board of each university shall consist of

(a) a chairman of the board appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council;

- (b) the chancellor of the university;
- (c) the president of the university;
- (d) the following members appointed by the Minister;

(i) 2 alumni of the university nominated by the alumni association;

(ii) one member of the senate nominated from its members who have been appointed under section 10(1)(b)(v) or elected under section 10(1)(c);

(iii) 2 members of the academic staff of the university nominated by the general faculties council;

(iv) 2 students nominated by the council of the students' union;

(v) if the university has a graduate students' association, one graduate student nominated by the council of the association;

(e) 8 additional members representative of the general public appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.