1997 BILL 31

First Session, 24th Legislature, 46 Elizabeth II

THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF ALBERT

BILL 31

PROVINCIAL AGENCIES CONTINUATION ACT

THE PROVINCIAL TREASURER
First Reading
Second Reading
Committee of the Whole
Third Reading
Royal Assent

BILL 31

1997

PROVINCIAL AGENCIES CONTINUATION ACT

(Assented to

, 1997)

HER MAJESTY, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta, enacts as follows:

Continuation of certain Provincial agencies

- 1 In accordance with section 81.1(2) of the *Financial Administration Act*, those of the following that are in existence on December 31, 1998, continue until December 31, 2003:
 - (a) the Provincial agencies set out in the Schedules;
 - (b) every corporation that is a subsidiary of a Provincial agency set out in the Schedules or that is controlled by a Provincial agency set out in the Schedules directly or indirectly through one or more intermediary corporations.

SCHEDULE 1

PROVINCIAL AGENCIES UNDER THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION

- 1 Attendance Board appointed under section 111 of the School Act.
- 2 Board of Reference appointed under section 113 of the School Act.
- 3 School Buildings Board established under section 189 of the School Act.

SCHEDULE 2

PROVINCIAL AGENCIES UNDER THE MINISTRY OF FAMILY AND SOCIAL SERVICES

- 1 Social Care Facilities Review Committee established under section 2 of the Social Care Facilities Review Committee Act.
- 2 Services to Persons with Disabilities Foundation established under section 2 of the Persons with Developmental Disabilities Foundation Act.
- 3 Child Welfare Appeal Panels established under section 84 of the Child Welfare Act.
- 4 Assured Income for the Severely Handicapped Appeal Panels established under section 11 of the Assured Income for the Severely Handicapped Act.
- 5 Citizens Appeal and Advisory Boards established under section 28 of the Social Development Act.
- 6 Widows' Pension Appeal Panels appointed under section 8 of the Widows' Pension Act.
- 7 Dependent Adults Appeal Panels established under section 59 of the Dependent Adults Act.

SCHEDULE 3

PROVINCIAL AGENCIES UNDER THE MINISTRY OF FEDERAL AND INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS

1 Metis Settlements Appeal Tribunal established under section 180 of the Metis Settlements Act.

SCHEDULE 4

PROVINCIAL AGENCIES UNDER THE MINISTRY OF TRANSPORTATION AND UTILITIES

- 1 Alberta Motor Transport Board continued under section 2 of the Motor Transport Act.
- 2 Driver Control Board continued under section 20 of the Motor Vehicle Administration Act.
- 3 Medical Review Board established under section 10(3) of the Motor Vehicle Administration Act.

SCHEDULE 5

PROVINCIAL AGENCIES UNDER THE MINISTRY OF TREASURY

- 1 Alberta Automobile Insurance Board established under section 338(1) of the Insurance Act.
- 2 Alberta Government Telephones Commission continued under section 2(1) of the Telecommunications Act.
- 3 Alberta Municipal Financing Corporation established under section 2 of the Alberta Municipal Financing Corporation Act.
- 4 Alberta Pensions Administration Corporation incorporated under the Business Corporations Act.
- 5 Alberta Securities Commission continued under section 10(1) of the Securities Act.
- 6 The board of directors appointed under section 2.1 of the Treasury Branches Act.
- 7 Credit Union Deposit Guarantee Corporation continued under section 7 of the Credit Union Act.
- 8 N.A. Properties (1994) Limited incorporated under the Business Corporations Act.
- 9 Local Authorities Pension Plan Board of Trustees established under section 3(1) of Schedule 1 of the Public Sector Pension Plans Act.
- 10 Management Employees Pension Board established under section 3(1) of Schedule 5 of the Public Sector Pension Plans Act.
- 11 Public Service Pension Board established under section 3(1) of Schedule 2 of the Public Sector Pension Plans Act.
- 12 Special Forces Pension Board established under section 3(1) of Schedule 4 of the Public Sector Pension Plans Act.
- 13 Universities Academic Pension Board established under section 3(1) of Schedule 3 of the Public Sector Pension Plans Act.
- 14 Audit Committee established under section 21(1) of the Auditor General Act.
- 15 Treasury Board established under section 4 of the Financial Administration Act.