2010 Bill 28

Third Session, 27th Legislature, 59 Elizabeth II

THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF ALBERTA

# **BILL 28**

**ELECTORAL DIVISIONS ACT** 

THE MINISTER OF JUSTICE AND ATTORNEY GENERAL

First Reading
Second Reading
Committee of the Whole
Third Reading
Royal Assent

## **BILL 28**

2010

## **ELECTORAL DIVISIONS ACT**

(Assented to , 2010)

### Table of Contents

- 1 Electoral divisions
- 2 Names of electoral divisions
- 3 Description of electoral divisions
- 4 Regulations
- 5 Appointment of returning officers and election clerks
- 6 Consequential amendment
- 7 Repeal
- 8 Coming into force

Schedule

HER MAJESTY, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta, enacts as follows:

#### **Electoral divisions**

**1** The electoral divisions for the purpose of the *Election Act* are the 87 electoral divisions established by this Act.

#### Names of electoral divisions

**2** The names of the electoral divisions are those set out in the Schedule.

#### **Description of electoral divisions**

**3** The boundaries of the electoral divisions are those described in the DVD prepared by the Chief Electoral Officer as directed by a resolution of the Legislative Assembly and tabled as Sessional Paper 315/2010.

#### Regulations

**4** Notwithstanding section 3, if the boundary between 2 electoral divisions passes through a building used for one or more residences, the Chief Electoral Officer, after consultation with the returning officers for those electoral divisions, may by regulation prescribe the electoral division in which the building is to be located for the purposes of the *Election Act*.

#### Appointment of returning officers and election clerks

**5** The Chief Electoral Officer may at any time before the coming into force of sections 1 to 4 appoint returning officers and election clerks for the electoral divisions established by this Act.

#### **Consequential amendment**

6 The *Electoral Boundaries Commission Act* is amended by repealing section 11(2) and substituting the following:

(2) The Bill is to be stated to come into force on the day that a writ is issued under section 40 of the *Election Act* for the next general election.

#### Repeal

**7** The *Electoral Divisions Act*, SA 2003 cE-4.1, is repealed and the electoral divisions under that Act are disestablished.

#### **Coming into force**

**8** This Act, except sections 5 and 6, comes into force on the day that a writ is issued under section 40 of the *Election Act* for the next general election.

#### Schedule

#### Names of the Electoral Divisions

- 1 Dunvegan-Central Peace
- 2 Lesser Slave Lake
- 3 Calgary-Acadia
- 4 Calgary-Bow
- 5 Calgary-Buffalo
- 6 Calgary-Cross
- 7 Calgary-Currie
- 8 Calgary-East
- 9 Calgary-Elbow
- 10 Calgary-Fish Creek
- 11 Calgary-Foothills
- 12 Calgary-Fort
- 13 Calgary-Glenmore
- 14 Calgary-Greenway
- 15 Calgary-Hawkwood
- 16 Calgary-Hays
- 17 Calgary-Klein
- 18 Calgary-Lougheed
- 19 Calgary-Mackay-Nose Hill
- 20 Calgary-McCall
- 21 Calgary-Mountain View
- 22 Calgary-North West
- 23 Calgary-Northern Hills
- 24 Calgary-Shaw
- 25 Calgary-South East
- 26 Calgary-Varsity
- 27 Calgary-West
- 28 Edmonton-Beverly-Clareview
- 29 Edmonton-Calder
- 30 Edmonton-Castle Downs
- 31 Edmonton-Centre
- 32 Edmonton-Decore
- 33 Edmonton-Ellerslie
- 34 Edmonton-Glenora
- 35 Edmonton-Gold Bar
- 36 Edmonton-Highlands-Norwood
- 37 Edmonton-Manning
- 38 Edmonton-McClung
- 39 Edmonton-Meadowlark
- 40 Edmonton-Mill Creek
- 41 Edmonton-Mill Woods
- 42 Edmonton-Riverview

- 43 Edmonton-Rutherford
- 44 Edmonton-South West
- 45 Edmonton-Strathcona
- 46 Edmonton-Whitemud
- 47 Airdrie
- 48 Athabasca-Sturgeon-Redwater
- 49 Banff-Cochrane
- 50 Barrhead-Morinville-Westlock
- 51 Battle River-Wainwright
- 52 Bonnyville-Cold Lake
- 53 Cardston-Taber-Warner
- 54 Chestermere-Rocky View
- 55 Cypress-Medicine Hat
- 56 Drayton Valley-Devon
- 57 Drumheller-Stettler
- 58 Fort McMurray-Conklin
- 59 Fort McMurray-Wood Buffalo
- 60 Fort Saskatchewan-Vegreville
- 61 Grande Prairie-Smoky
- 62 Grande Prairie-Wapiti
- 63 Highwood
- 64 Innisfail-Sylvan Lake
- 65 Lac La Biche-St. Paul-Two Hills
- 66 Lacombe-Ponoka
- 67 Leduc-Beaumont
- 68 Lethbridge-East
- 69 Lethbridge-West
- 70 Little Bow
- 71 Livingstone-Macleod
- 72 Medicine Hat
- 73 Olds-Didsbury-Three Hills
- 74 Peace River
- 75 Red Deer-North
- 76 Red Deer-South
- 77 Rimbey-Rocky Mountain House-Sundre
- 78 Sherwood Park
- 79 Spruce Grove-St. Albert
- 80 St. Albert
- 81 Stony Plain
- 82 Strathcona-Sherwood Park
- 83 Strathmore-Brooks
- 84 Vermilion-Lloydminster
- 85 West Yellowhead
- 86 Wetaskiwin-Camrose
- 87 Whitecourt-Ste. Anne

#### **RECORD OF DEBATE**

Stage	Date	Member		From		То
		Questions and Comments From		То		
Stage	Date	Member		From		То
					1	
		Questions and Comments From		То		
Stage	Date	Member		From		То
		Questions and Comments From		То		
Stage	Date	Member		From		То
					1	
		Questions and Comments From		То		