2024 Bill Pr2

First Session, 31st Legislature, 2 Charles III

THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF ALBERTA

BILL Pr2

COMMUNITY FOUNDATION OF MEDICINE HAT AND SOUTHEASTERN ALBERTA AMENDMENT ACT, 2024

MR. WRIGHT

 First Reading .

 Second Reading .

 Committee of the Whole .

 Third Reading .

 Royal Assent .

Bill Pr2 Mr. Wright

BILL Pr2

2024

COMMUNITY FOUNDATION OF MEDICINE HAT AND SOUTHEASTERN ALBERTA AMENDMENT ACT, 2024

(Assented to

, 2024)

Preamble

WHEREAS the Community Foundation of Medicine Hat was incorporated by the *Medicine Hat Community Foundation Act*, chapter 45, Statutes of Alberta, 1992 ("Incorporating Act");

WHEREAS the Incorporating Act was amended by the *Medicine Hat Community Foundation Amendment Act, 2005*, chapter 53, Statutes of Alberta, 2005, which repealed the title *Medicine Hat Community Foundation Act* and substituted it with *Community Foundation of Medicine Hat and Southeastern Alberta Act* and continued the body corporate with the name Community Foundation of Medicine Hat and Southeastern Alberta; and

WHEREAS the Community Foundation of Medicine Hat and Southeastern Alberta has presented a petition praying that the Incorporating Act be amended as set out below and it is expedient to grant the prayer of the petition;

THEREFORE HIS MAJESTY, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta, enacts as follows:

Amends SA 1992 c45

1 The Community Foundation of Medicine Hat and Southeastern Alberta Act is amended by this Act.

2 Section 1 is amended by repealing clause (b.1) and substituting the following:

Explanatory Notes

- **1** Amends chapter 45 of the Statutes of Alberta, 1992.
- **2** Section 1(b.1) presently reads:
 - (b.1) "Community" means the City of Medicine Hat, the Towns of Bassano, Brooks, Bow Island, Hanna, Redcliff and Oyen, the Villages of

(b.1) "Community" means the City of Medicine Hat, the City of Brooks, the County of Forty Mile No. 8, the County of Newell, the Municipal District of Acadia No. 34, Special Areas No. 2, No. 3 and No. 4, and all villages, hamlets and towns within the boundaries of those municipal districts and special areas.

3 Section 6(2) is repealed and the following is substituted:

(2) The Committee consists of the following individuals appointed by the Board:

- (a) the mayor or reeve of a municipality that is part of the Community, who is the Chair;
- (b) a justice of the Alberta Court of Justice;
- (c) a president of a chamber of commerce of a city or town that is part of the Community;
- (d) a former member of the Board or the Committee;
- (e) one other individual as a member-at-large.

Empress, Foremost and Tilley, the Counties of 40 Mile, Cypress and Newell and Special Areas 2, 3 and the Municipality of Acadia Valley (Special Area 34);

- **3** Section 6(2) presently reads:
 - (2) The Committee shall comprise:
 - (a) the Mayor of the City of Medicine Hat, who shall be Chair;
 - (b) the Senior Judge of the Provincial Court;
 - (c) the President of the Medicine Hat and District Chamber of Commerce;
 - (d) the President of the City of Medicine Hat and District Trades and Labour Council;
 - (e) a mayor or reeve representing that part of the Community outside the City of Medicine Hat.

RECORD OF DEBATE

Stage	Date	Member	From	То
Stage	Date	Member	From	10
		Interventions	From	То
Stage	Date	Member	From	То
		Interventions	From	То
Stage	Date	Mamhar	From	То
Stage	Date	Member	From	10
		Interventions	From	То
Stage	Date	Member	From	То
	•	Interventions	From	То
Stage	Date	Member	From	То
Juge	Jun			
		Interventions	Enom	То
		Interventions	From	10
Stage	Date	Member	From	То
		Interventions	From	То
			1	
				1