Bill No. 31 of 1937.

A BILL RESPECTING THE BERRY CREEK SCHOOL DIVISION No. 1.

NOTE.

This Bill ratifies and confirms the constitution of Berry Creek School Division and the appointment of delegates, election of the Board of the Division and other incidental proceedings.

Section 5 enables the Minister to dissolve or alter any school district included in the Division, and to constitute new school districts therein.

> R. ANDREW SMITH, Legislative Counsel.

(This note does not form any part of the Bill and is offered merely as a partial explanation of some of its provisions.)

BILL

No. 31 of 1937.

An Act respecting The Berry Creek School Division No. 1.

(Assented to . 1937.)

WHEREAS by an order dated the fifteenth day of June,

1933, and made in purported pursuance of the powers in that behalf contained in *The School Act*, and published in *The* Alberta Gazette for the thirtieth day of June, 1933, the lands therein mentioned were constituted into a School District under the name of The Berry Creek School District No. 4617; and

Whereas the School Districts which had been constituted within boundaries of The Berry Creek School District as constituted by the before recited order had all been dissolved in purported pursuance of the powers in that behalf contained in the said Act; and

Whereas by an order dated the first day of October, 1936, and made in purported pursuance of section 231 of *The* School Act, 1931, and published in *The Alberta Gazette* for the fifteenth day of October, 1936, The Berry Creek School District No. 4617 together with sixteen other rural School Districts, were constituted a division with the name of The Berry Creek School Division No. 1; and

Whereas by reason of the before recited dissolution of the School Districts previously existent in The Berry Creek School District No. 4617, the strict compliance with Part XVII of *The School Act*, 1931, would have resulted in the deprivation of the electors of the said School District of adequate representation; and for the purpose of avoiding that result it was provided by the said order that the said School Division be divided into subdivisions as therein set out; and

Whereas for the purpose of providing due representatives to the electors of Berry Creek School District No. 4617, the Official Trustee appointed delegates to represent as nearly as possible the School Districts which had been dissolved as aforesaid; and

Whereas meetings were held of the delegates so appointed and delegates appointed pursuant to the said Act, and at such meetings the following persons were elected as mem-bers of the Board of the Division, namely:---

James R. Hannaford, of Howie, Alberta, to represent subdivision No. 1;

Robert McGibbon, of Burfield, Alberta, to represent subdivision No. 2;

James Ryan, of Hutton, Alberta, to represent subdivision No. 3;

John Hickle, of Rose Lynn, Alberta, to represent subdivision No. 4;

John M. Turnbull, of Big Stone, Alberta, to represent subdivision No. 5; and

Whereas it is proper and convenient that the last recited order be confirmed, ratified and validated, and that the recited appointment of delegates of the Board of the Division be confirmed, validated and ratified.

Now therefore, His Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Alberta, enacts as follows:

1. This Act may be cited as "The Berry Creek School Division Act."

2. The before recited order of the first day of October, 1936, is hereby confirmed, ratified and validated, and The Berry Creek School Division No. 1 is hereby declared to be validly constituted as a School Division for all the purposes of The School Act, 1931.

3. The subdivisions in which the said Division is divided by the last mentioned order are hereby declared to have been validly constituted, and to be the subdivisions of the said Division for all the purposes of *The School Act*, 1931.

4. The before recited election of members of the Board of the Division is hereby ratified, confirmed and validated, and the following persons, namely: James R. Hannaford, of Howie, Alberta, to represent subdivision No. 1; Robert McGibbon, of Burfield, Alberta, to represent subdivision No. 2; James Ryan, of Hutton, Alberta, to represent subdivision No. 3; John Hickle, of Rose Lynn, Alberta, to represent subdivision No. 4; and John M. Turnbull, of Big Stone, Alberta, to represent subdivision No. 5; are, and each of them is hereby declared to have been duly elected as members of the Divisional Board for all the purposes of Part XVII of *The School Act*, 1931, and each person so elected shall hold office as if he had been so elected in conformity to the provisions of the said Part.

5. The Minister may by order from time to time dissolve any School Districts for the time being existent in the Division, and either by the same order or by different orders constitute in the areas of the Districts so dissolved new School Districts, or add any part of any such area to an existing School District, or both, as he may in his discretion deem proper and convenient; and any new School District so constituted shall be a School District included in the Division.

6. This Act shall come into force on the day upon which it is assented to.

2

THIRD SESSION

EIGHTH LEGISLATURE

1 GEORGE VI

1937

BILL

An Act respecting The Berry Creek School Division No. 1.

Received and read the

First time.....

Second time.....

Third time.....

HON. MR. ABERHART.

EDMONTON: A. Shnitka, King's Printer 1937